American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity Announces Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum will be Among the Recipients of its Annual Awards

The renowned scholar, teacher and race relations expert will join other icons of business, social justice, higher education and medicine at the Association's 44th National Conference and Annual Meeting in Atlanta

WASHINGTON (PRWEB) June 01, 2018

The American Association for Access, Equity and Diversity (AAAED), an organization of equal opportunity, diversity and affirmative action professionals, announced that Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum, PhD, a foremost authority on the psychology of racism, will receive the Arthur A. Fletcher Lifetime Achievement Award. AAAED will confer The Fletcher Award, among others, at the Association's 44th National Conference and Annual Meeting themed "Bridging Opportunities: Keeping the Dream Alive." The meeting will be held at the Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, 165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303. The awards will be presented on Thursday, June 7, 2018 from 12:15 pm to 2:15 pm.

Dr. Tatum is the immediate past President of Spelman College (2002 – 2015). Prior to that, Dr. Tatum served as Department Chair, Dean of the College and Acting President of Mount Holyoke College for 13 years. A Clinical Psychologist by training, her areas of research include racial identity development and the role of race in the classroom. She earned a B.A. degree in Psychology from Wesleyan University and a M.A. and Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from the University of Michigan. She also holds a M.A. in Religious Studies from Hartford Seminary. Among her published works are definitive books on race relations, which include Assimilation Blues: Black Families in White Communities: Who Succeeds and Why (Contributions in Afro-American and African Studies) (1987); Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?: And Other Conversations about Race (1997 and 2017); and Can We Talk About Race?: And Other Conversations in an Era of School Resegregation (2007).

The Arthur A. Fletcher Lifetime Achievement Award is named for the former Assistant Secretary of Labor during the Nixon Administration who championed the Philadelphia Plan, promoting equal opportunity and affirmative action programs for federal contractors. The Fletcher Award recognizes a lifetime of achievement advancing and advocating for affirmative action as a means of attaining equal employment opportunity (EEO) and diversity.

AAAED will also honor civil rights icon, the Rev. Dr. CT Vivian, with the Drum Major for Justice Award. Dr. Vivian, once known as a Christian journalist, is best known for his work with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. In November 2013, Dr. Vivian was honored for his vision and leadership in the fight for justice when he received the highest civilian honor—The Presidential Medal of Freedom. The Drum Major for Justice is the highest award the association confers. The award is a special acknowledgement of the extraordinary contributions that an organization or individual, including a public servant or one who has held an elective office or appointment to public service, has made to the cause of equity, access and diversity.

The Southern Poverty Law Center will receive the Edward M. Kennedy Community Service Award. The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of society.

Beverly Guy-Sheftall, PhD will also receive the Arthur A. Fletcher Lifetime Achievement Award. Professor Guy-Sheftall is founding director of the Women's Research and Resource Center (since 1981) and Anna Julia Cooper Professor of Women's Studies at Spelman College. Dr. Guy-Sheftall has published and edited a number of texts within African American and Women's Studies, which include the first anthology on Black women's literature, Sturdy Black Bridges: Visions of Black Women in Literature (Doubleday, 1979).

Rogsbert Phillips-Reed, MD will receive the Rosa Parks Award. The Rosa Parks Award recognizes an individual who serves as a role model and leader for others through their personal achievements, excellence in a chosen field, a commitment to human, civil rights and social issues and contributions to the betterment of society. A native Georgian, Dr. Phillips-Reed is a general surgeon and Fellow of the American College of Surgeons specializing in breast surgery. She graduated from Columbia University School of Physicians and Surgeons and in 1982 became the second woman and first African American woman to successfully complete Emory University's Surgical Program.

Rogelio Sáenz, PhD will be the recipient of the Cesar Estrada Chavez Award. The Cesar Estrada Chavez Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated leadership in support of workers' rights and humanitarian issues. Dr. Rogelio Sáenz is Dean of the College of Public Policy and holds the Mark G. Yudof Endowed Chair at the University of Texas at San Antonio. Dr. Sáenz has written extensively in the areas of demography, Latina/os, race and ethnic relations, inequality, immigration, public policy, social justice, and human rights.

The Coca-Cola Company will receive the ​Roosevelt Thomas ​Champion of Diversity Award. The Coca-Cola Company is the world's largest total beverage company, offering over 500 brands to people in more than 200 countries. The company's vision is "to be inclusive and diverse as our brands, unleashing the power of perspectives within our associates to drive innovation and sustainable system growth." The Champion of Diversity Award is given to an organization or corporation for outstanding achievements in promoting diversity in the workforce.

Southern Company Gas will also receive the ​Roosevelt Thomas ​Champion of Diversity Award. Southern Company Gas provides for the energy needs of millions of U.S. households and businesses. Supporting and enabling diversity and inclusion is a business priority at Southern Company Gas.

AAAED President Myron Anderson, PhD, will confer the President's Award on members of the Association who have made outstanding contributions to the Association.

"We are pleased to recognize all of these distinguished individuals and organizations for their contributions to the cause of access, equity and diversity," said Danielle Williams, EdD, Awards Committee Chair. "Great honor is due to these trailblazers who have been outstanding in their fields," added AAAED President Anderson.

The AAAED 44th National Conference and Annual Meeting is open to the press. For more information or to register for the Conference, go to: For luncheon tickets go to:

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

Posted In: