Cheapest Car Insurance in Texas

Read our Advertiser Disclosure.
Contributor, Benzinga
Updated: October 16, 2021

Want to save money on your car insurance? Find and compare free custom quotes here.

Everything might be bigger in Texas — but your auto insurance bill doesn’t have to be. Use our guide to scout for the best and cheapest car insurance in Texas. Learn more about TX car insurance law, the best providers and where to find the most affordable rates. Here’s a rundown of what’s in store for you in the Lone Star State

The Best Car Insurance in Texas

  • Texas Farm Bureau
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    securely through Texas Farm Bureau's website
    More Details
  • USAA
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    Read Review
    securely through USAA's website
    More Details
  • Bonzah
    More Details
    Overall Rating
    Read Review
    securely through Bonzah's website
    More Details
  • Savvy Insurance
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    Read Review
    securely through Savvy Insurance's website
    More Details

Key Points: TX Car Insurance

  • Texas averages 2 vehicles per household.
  • Minimum car insurance coverages are as follows: 
    • Bodily injury liability coverage: $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident
    • Property damage liability coverage: $25,000
  • Drivers with clean records can expect to pay between $716 and $1,094 annually for state minimum coverage, depending on their provider. 

Texas Car Insurance Requirements

You must have car insurance to drive in Texas. You’ll need at least the following minimum coverage to stay within the law:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: Bodily injury liability coverage compensates anyone you physically injure during a collision. You must have at least $30,000 worth of this coverage per person and $60,000 per accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage: Property damage liability coverage compensates anyone whose property you damage during a collision. You must have at least $25,000 worth of property damage liability coverage.

Keep in mind that these coverages are only the minimum protection you need in order to drive in Texas. They offer you no protection as the policyholder. You might want to consider adding on a couple of optional policies if you want to protect yourself, including collision and comprehensive coverage.

  • Collision coverage: Collision coverage pays you for damage done to your vehicle after an accident.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage pays you if your vehicle is damaged during a covered event that’s not a collision. Some common examples include damage from animals, riots or natural disasters.

Caught driving without insurance? You’ll need to pay a fine of no less than $350 and no more than $1,000 on your first offense. You’ll also face a $250 surcharge on your license every year for 3 years. 

Best Car Insurance in Texas

Now that you know what kind of car insurance you need and what you might pay, it’s time to look at the best providers in Texas. Consider our top choices when you shop for coverage. 

Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Review

  • Texas Farm Bureau
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    securely through Texas Farm Bureau's website
    More Details

USAA Car Insurance Review

  • USAA
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    Read Review
    securely through USAA's website
    More Details

Bonzah Insurance Review

Savvy Car Insurance Review

  • Savvy Insurance
    More Details
    SR-22 Insurance
    Yes
    Overall Rating
    Read Review
    securely through Savvy Insurance's website
    More Details

The Lone Star State’s Best Coverage

Even if you weren't looking for the cheapest car insurance in Texas, know you know where to find it! Even if you’re satisfied with your current auto insurance provider, it never hurts to see what else is out there.

Every car insurance company uses its own individual formula to calculate what you’ll pay for insurance. This means that it’s possible to get 10 totally different quotes from 10 different companies. Collect at least 5 quotes and compare them to your current insurance. You can use any of these lower rate offers to negotiate a lower rate with your current provider. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q
Do I have to have car insurance to drive a car in Texas?
A

Yes, Texas law requires proof of insurance to drive, which consists of proof that you are able to financially cover the damages for accidents you cause.

Auto liability insurance is usually sufficient and will help you pay for the other driver’s medical and auto repair bills.

Q
Is Texas a no-fault state?
A

No, Texas is not a no-fault state when it comes to car insurance. Rather, it’s an at-fault state, meaning whoever causes an accident is responsible for covering the damages.

Q
What is the cheapest car insurance in Texas?
A

Texas Farm Bureau is often the most affordable car insurance provider in Texas. But we also like to use Savvy to compare quote from multiple providers to get the best rate.