Personal Auto Liability Minimums: a State-by-State Guide

Contributor, Benzinga

Want to save money on your car insurance? Find and compare free custom quotes here.

Each state has different personal auto liability minimums as far as what type of car insurance you need when driving a car or motorcycle. Use our state-by-state guide to learn more about state minimums for personal liability coverage for car insurance.

Table of contents [Show]

What is Liability Auto Insurance?

Liability coverage, as part of your car insurance policy, offers financial protection to drivers who harm, damage or injure another person and/or their property while driving a car.

Bodily injury liability coverage or medical expenses coverage offers protection for drivers from the cost of medical expenses for someone else they injure while involved in an accident.

Property damage liability is financial protection from the costs of repairing or replacing vehicles of drivers involved in an accident.

Some states may require uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. And some may refer to Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, which is mandatory in no-fault states. A no-fault state is one that has no-fault car insurance laws. With these laws, drivers file claims under their own insurance policy, no matter who is at fault for the accident.

How to Analyze Auto Liability Minimums

Often, coverage levels are displayed like this: 20/40/15, or $20,000/$40,000/$15,000. The first two numbers in this sequence refer to medical coverage, while the last refers to property damage. The first number refers to the to maximum amount a policy will pay for an individual. The second number refers to the amount of property damage that a policy will pay for.

For state minimums, these numbers are the minimum amount a driver is required to carry.

Alabama Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Alabama$25,000 per person and
$50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Alaska Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 50/100/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Alaska$50,000 per person and
$100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$50,000 per person
$100,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Arizona Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Arizona$25,000 per person and
$50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$15,000$15,000

Arkansas Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Arkansas$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

California Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 15/30/5

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
California$15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
$5,000$5,000

Colorado Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Colorado$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$15,000$15,000

Connecticut Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Connecticut$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Delaware Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Delaware$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in personal injury protection
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$10,000

District of Columbia Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
District of Columbia$10,000 per accident in property damage liability protection
$10,000 in personal injury protection
None$10,000$10,000

Florida Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 10/20/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Florida$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident$25,000$10,000

Georgia Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Georgia$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$10,000 in personal injury protection
$20,000 per person
$40,000 per accident
$10,000$25,000

Hawaii Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 20/40/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Hawaii$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$15,000$10,000

Idaho Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Idaho$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$20,000$15,000

Illinois Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Illinois$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$20,000

Indiana Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Indiana$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$20,000 per person
$40,000 per accident
$15,000$25,000

Iowa Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 20/40/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Iowa$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Personal injury protection including:$4,500 per person for medical expenses
$900/month for one year for disability
$25/day for in-home services
$2,000 for final expenses
$4,500 for rehabilitation expenses

Survivor benefits ($900/month for one year of lost income plus $25/day for in-home services)
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$15,000

Kansas Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Kansas$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Kentucky Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Kentucky$15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Louisiana Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 15/30/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Louisiana$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$2,000 medical payments coverage
$50,000 per person
$100,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Maine Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 50/100/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Maine$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$15,000 per incident in uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage
$30,000 per person
$60,000 per accident
$15,000$25,000

Maryland Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 30/60/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Maryland$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$8,000 in personal injury protection
$20,000 per person
$40,000 per accident
$5,000$15,000

Massachusetts Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 20/40/5

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Massachusetts$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$40,000 in personal injury protection
$30,000 per person
$60,000 per accident
$10,000$10,000

Michigan Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 50/100/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Michigan$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 property damage liability protection outside Michigan and $1 million within Michigan 
$250,000 in personal injury protection (Medicaid and Medicare recipients may qualify for lower limits)
$50,000 per person
$100,000 per accident
$10,000$5,000

Minnesota Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 30/60/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Minnesota$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$10,000

Mississippi Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Mississippi$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Missouri Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Missouri$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$20,000$10,000

Montana Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Montana$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$20,000

Nebraska Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Nebraska$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$20,000$25,000

Nevada Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
NevadaInsurance is optional, but if purchased, the following minimum limits are required:
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage coverage
$1,000 medical payments coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$20,000

New Hampshire Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
New Hampshire$5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$15,000 in personal injury protection
$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
$5,000$25,000

New Jersey Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 15/30/5

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
New Jersey$25,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage
$50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$5,000

New Mexico Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
New Mexico$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in liability for death
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$50,000 personal injury protection
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$10,000

New York Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
New York$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per accident in uninsured property damage coverage
$30,000 per person
$60,000 per accident
$25,000$10,000

North Carolina Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 30/60/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
North Carolina$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$30,000 in personal injury protection
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

North Dakota Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
North Dakota$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Ohio Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Ohio$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Oklahoma Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Oklahoma$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$15,000 in personal injury protection
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$20,000$25,000

Oregon Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Oregon$15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$5,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$5,000 in medical benefits
$15,000 per person
$30,000 per accident
$5,000$20,000

Pennsylvania Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 15/30/5

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Pennsylvania$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person $50,000 per accident$25,000$5,000

Rhode Island Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Rhode Island$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

South Carolina Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
South Carolina$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

South Dakota Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
South Dakota$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$15,000$25,000

Tennessee Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Tennessee$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$30,000 per person
$60,000 per accident
$25,000$15,000

Texas Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 30/60/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Texas$25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$3,000 in personal injury protection
$25,000 per person
$65,000 per accident
$15,000$25,000

Utah Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/65/15

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Utah$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$10,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$15,000

Vermont Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
VermontDrivers have the option of paying a $500 fee or purchasing the following minimum coverages:
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$20,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
2000010000

Virginia Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Virginia$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$20,000

Washington Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Washington$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
$5,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$10,000

West Virginia Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/25

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
West Virginia$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per accident in uninsured motorist property damage coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$25,000$25,000

Wisconsin Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/10

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Wisconsin$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$10,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage 
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$10,000$10,000

Wyoming Personal Auto Liability State Minimums: 25/50/20

State Types of Minimum Auto Liability Coverage Required by LawCoverage Amount Limit for Bodily Injury for All Persons Injured in an AccidentCoverage Amount for Individual Property Damage Coverage Amount
Wyoming$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
$20,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident
$20,000$20,000

Special Auto Liability Minimum Cases by State

  • Maine, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania: ME and NH have “medical payments coverage”, while PA has “medical benefits coverage.” Each of these effectively work like personal industry protection coverage, or PIP.
  • Connecticut, Kansas, Minnesota, New Hampshire, Washington D.C. and North and South Dakota: each have underinsured motorist insurance in addition to uninsured motorist coverage requirements.
  • Kansas: In addition to $4,500 PIP, drivers get up to $900 per month for disability or loss of income, $25 per day for in-home services, $4,500 for rehabilitation, and lastly $2,000 for funeral burial or cremation costs. 
  • Michigan: State has mandatory Property Protection Insurance (PPI) which acts like PIP, but for property damages instead of bodily. Limits are $1 million.
  • New Hampshire: Car insurance is not mandatory in New Hampshire, but if you opted for it (or forced to get it), these would be the minimum requirements. Every state but New Hampshire has minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • New York: Also comes with an additional $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident in the event of a death in an accident.