Want to save money on your car insurance? Find and compare free custom quotes here.
Are you a Colorado native and think you might be paying too much for auto insurance? Be ready to dig through a plethora of options. Use our Car Insurance Colorado guide to check recommendations for the top car insurance companies in CO.
Best Auto Insurance in Colorado
Colorado Auto Insurance Laws
Coloradans are required by law to have liability insurance to drive. In other words, if you are liable for an accident, liability coverage helps pay for the other person's expenses. Here are the minimum liability insurance requirements you’ll need to have to drive in Colorado:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident in bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident in property damage
Bodily injury covers people’s expenses if you’re responsible for a collision. Property damage liability pays for damage to someone else’s property or vehicle, regardless of who is at fault.
You’re also required to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which covers the cost of bodily injury in case you’re in an accident with a hit-and-run driver or someone who doesn’t have insurance. The minimum requirements are:
- $25,000 per person for the uninsured/underinsured motorist
- $50,000 per accident for the uninsured/underinsured motorist
Collision and comprehensive insurance coverage aren’t required in Colorado but it’s a good idea to consider more coverage. Collision insurance protects drivers who are at fault following an accident. Collision coverage pays to have your car repaired minus your deductible. Comprehensive insurance provides coverage if your car is stolen, vandalized or damaged for example.
You must carry proof of your Colorado car insurance in your vehicle at all times. If you don’t and are pulled over, your first offense is a fine of $500 and the second is a fine of $1,000 with a license suspension of up to 4 months. Additional offenses require a fine of $1,000 with 8 months of suspension and up to 40 hours of community service.
Compare Colorado Car Insurance Quotes
The average rate of car insurance in Colorado is $2,065 per year and minimum coverage is $681 per year. Compare quotes from the providers below to find your best rate.
Colorado Traffic Laws You Should Know
Be aware of traffic laws and moving violations — some are typical across the U.S. and others are unique to Colorado.
Any driver under 18 is banned from using a cellphone while driving in Colorado and anyone over 18 is only permitted to use hands-free devices. Cellphone use is permitted in an emergency. A first time offense will result in a fine of $50.
Any driver who refuses to take a sobriety test is considered a “persistent drunk driver.” First offenses can lead to a 1-year revocation of your driver’s license. You can reinstate your license due to the recent Interlock Bill, which allows you to drive if you agree to not drive your cars for 2 months and also agree to drive with an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 2 years. An ignition interlock device is secured to a steering wheel and won’t allow you to drive your car until you breathe into it. This law also lowered the legal blood alcohol content limit from 0.17 to 0.15.
Marijuana was legalized in Colorado in 2013, and laws did have to accommodate for this. Colorado DUI laws cap the legal limit for tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in the bloodstream at below 5 or more nanograms per milliliter.
Colorado Auto Insurance Rates per Vehicle
The car you drive might help you lower your auto insurance. You’ll see an increase in your insurance premiums the more accidents or claims you file.
A few more factors go into whether your car will influence your insurance rate increases:
- Theft rate
- Purchase price
- Repair costs
- Accident rates
- Safety tests
Auto Insurance Rates by Insurance Credit Score in CO
Do you know your personal insurance credit score? An insurance credit score is a soft hit to your credit. Whereas when a bank runs your credit score, it’s a hard hit. A higher credit score can help you get cheaper insurance rates. On the flip side, you might be considered a higher risk to an insurer if you have a low credit score.
Insurers have proven that those with credit scores under 600 are more likely to file claims, inflate claims and commit insurance fraud. Those with credit scores under 600 are also more likely to miss insurance payments. Here’s how to raise your credit score to avoid higher fees.
|Credit Score||Cheapest Provider||Rate for State Minimum Coverage|
Insurance in Colorado for Drivers with a Clean Record
You can be eligible for cheaper insurance rates if your insurer feels confident you are a reliable, low-risk driver. You might also be eligible for a safe driver discount. You’ll be considered a low-risk driver when you have a limited amount of tickets and avoid common infractions such as using your phone while driving or driving under the influence.
|Insurance Company||State Minimum Insurance||Standard Coverage||Full Coverage|
Insurance Rates with Driving Infractions in CO
Driving infractions on your driving record can impact your Colorado car insurance rates. Speeding will get you points on your license and can also hurt your insurance rates (especially if you speed in a school zone or construction zone).
Driving under the influence, reckless driving and avoiding a law enforcement officer are more extreme offenses. Driving in the wrong areas (like the shoulder or carpool lane), running a red light, not signaling, not stopping for a bus and careless driving are a few other common infractions, and here’s what it will cost you:
|Insurance Company||At-Fault Accident||Speed Violation||DUI|
Best Auto Insurance Providers in Colorado
We whittled the list to bring you our top picks among the many insurance providers in Colorado — and our list includes the cheapest auto insurance in Colorado.
1. Best Overall: 21st Century
Our winner is 21st Century, a part of Farmers Insurance Group. 21st Century offers a variety of perks as well as a relatively low quote — $1,054 for a 1-year policy — though it’s not the cheapest option in the state.
You can get new car replacements through 21st Century and it also includes roadside assistance, accident forgiveness and comprehensive and collision coverage. You can also apply various discounts to get a cheaper rate, such as:
- Anti-theft device discount
- Multi-policy discount
- Defensive driving course discount
- Good student discount
- Loyalty discount
- Safety device discount
2. Cheapest Auto Insurance in Colorado: Hanover
Hanover is a great option for its discounts and perks and it’s the cheapest available in Colorado. The 1-year policy quote is $984.
Hanover also offers original equipment manufacturer (OEM) and newer car replacement benefits.
There are also discounts for multi-policy discounts, anti-theft discounts, defensive driving discounts, good student discounts and safety device discounts.
3. Best Coverage for Multiple Cars: AAA
AAA is one of the cheapest options and also offers various benefits, particularly if you have more than 1 driver in your household.
A 1-year policy can cost $1,101.04 on average, with discounts if you have multiple drivers, anti-theft and safety devices, have taken a defensive driving class, are a good student and more.
AAA also offers new car forgiveness and accident forgiveness.
4. Best for Military Personnel: USAA
The top insurance option for retired and active veterans is USAA, and it’s also at a cheap rate at $948 for a 1-year policy.
It offers accident forgiveness and has an option for roadside assistance.
Ask about applicable discounts as well, such as the military discount that makes it unique, a loyalty discount, a good student discount, a defensive driving discount and more.
Look into the Best Insurance Carriers
You want to save money on your Colorado car insurance policy while ensuring you have the best coverage. To help you meet this goals, you can do the following:
- Pay all of your bills on time to up your credit score when necessary.
- Consider paying a higher deductible each month to lower your premiums.
- Decide whether comprehensive and collision insurance is worth the extra money.
- Keep a clean record and avoid future infractions.
A little investigation and smart shopping will help you find plenty of cheap options that fit your needs and budget.
Frequently Asked Questions
All states require that you carry liability insurance on your vehicle. Depending on where you live your state may require additional coverage. Auto insurance limits are expressed:
Amount for injuries per person/ amount for injuries total per accident/amount for property damage per accident
It is always recommended to purchase more than the state minimums when it comes to any type of insurance. The state minimums are set relatively low to keep insurance affordable but in the case of an accident, your minimums can deplete quickly with expensive medical and property damage costs. If the damage or medical bills extend past your minimums you will personally be liable for all additional costs.
Often times you can get a lower premium by maintaining coverage without any gaps in coverage. Discounts are also available that can lower your premium. Bundling your products is another way to lower your car insurance premium. If you feel like you can beat your current premium, get a customized quote here.
*Quotes were obtained using the following profile: base 2015 Toyota Camry, male, 40-years-old. Policies reflect state minimum coverage options. We make every effort to provide the most accurate quotes based on the profile above. Due to the many combined variables involved in insurance quotes, the only way to get an accurate quote is to enter your own information through our partners’ secure websites.