Skip to main content

Market Overview

Monotype Announces Inaugural Type Champions Award Program to Recognize Brands Who Demonstrate Design and Typography Excellence


Panel of branding experts to select companies making type and creativity an innovative and central element of the brand experience

Monotype (NASDAQ:TYPE) today announced the Type Champions Awards, a program that will recognize and celebrate the brands that are committed to design and typography excellence. Winning brands will be selected by a panel of global branding experts and will demonstrate a focus on type in building brand messages, marketing and advertising efforts and overall customer experience.

This press release features multimedia. View the full release here:

Judges for the 2019 Type Champions Award include:

  • Perrin Drumm, Founder and Director, AIGA Eye on Design
  • Brian Collins, Chief Creative Officer and Founder, COLLINS
  • Chris Do, Founder, The Futur
  • Andy Payne, Global Chief Creative Officer, Interbrand
  • Mohamed Gaber, Founder, Kief Type Foundry
  • Patrick Märki, Managing Director, KMS Team
  • Rodney Abbot, Senior Partner, Lippincott
  • James Fooks-Bale, Creative Director, Monotype
  • Charles Nix, Type Director, Monotype
  • Brett Zucker, Chief Marketing Officer, Monotype
  • Abbott Miller, Partner, Pentagram
  • Josh Miles, Chief Marketing Officer of SMPS and Host of Obsessed Show
  • Kirsten Dietz, Founder and Partner, Strichpunkt Design
  • Alejandro Paul, Type Designer and Founder, Sudtipos
  • Leta Sobierajski, Partner, Wade and Leta
  • Wade Jeffree, Owner, Wade and Leta

"Type plays a critical role in brand identity, and some brands are using type in their creative campaigns in a way that stands out as strategic, thought-provoking and innovative," said James Fooks-Bale. "This award program will recognize the companies that use type to stand out among their peers, and create authentic, consistent and relevant brand identities."

Brands and agencies interested in submitting campaigns for consideration can learn more about the judging process and complete their nominations here. The deadline to submit nomination is Tuesday, October 8, 2019.

Winners will be announced at Adobe MAX, taking place November 4-6, 2019, in Los Angeles. Visit the Monotype booth (#801), or visit AIGA Eye on Design, the official media sponsor of the Type Champions Award program, to learn more about the winners.

To join the conversation about the Type Champion Award program, search #TypeChampions2019 on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.

About Monotype

Monotype empowers creative minds to build and express authentic brands through design, technology and expertise. Further information is available at Follow Monotype on Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.

Monotype is a trademark of Monotype Imaging Inc. registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and may be registered in certain other jurisdictions. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. ©2019 Monotype Imaging Holdings Inc. All rights reserved.

View Comments and Join the Discussion!
Don't Miss Any Updates!
News Directly in Your Inbox
Subscribe to:
Benzinga Premarket Activity
Get pre-market outlook, mid-day update and after-market roundup emails in your inbox.
Market in 5 Minutes
Everything you need to know about the market - quick & easy.
Fintech Focus
A daily collection of all things fintech, interesting developments and market updates.
Everything you need to know about the latest SPAC news.
Thank You

Thank you for subscribing! If you have any questions feel free to call us at 1-877-440-ZING or email us at