Market Overview

Wireless Innovation Forum Welcomes Three New Board of Directors Members


Wireless Innovation Forum
, a non-profit international industry
association dedicated to driving the future of radio communications and
systems worldwide, today announced election by its membership of three
new Board of Directors members: Steve Bernier of NordiaSoft, Andrew
Clegg of Google and Prakash Moorut of Nokia.

Steve Bernier is responsible for providing the technical
leadership enabling NordiaSoft to be among the most trusted partners for
building software-defined products. Together with his team, he conducts
pragmatic R&D that leads to innovative products and services for
embedded software component technologies. Steve is a frequent speaker at
the Wireless Innovation Forum conferences and he travels the world to
mentor fellow research scientists and engineers on implementing
software-defined radios, test instruments, radars, and more. Before
co-founding NordiaSoft, Steve worked at the Communications Research
Centre Canada (CRC) for 14 years where, together with his team, he made
several key contributions to the Software Communications Architecture
(SCA) specification. Prior to CRC, Steve worked for Lockheed Martin
Canada where he developed message-oriented middleware for embedded
real-time distributed systems. He will serve as Member at Large.

Andrew Clegg is Spectrum Engineering Lead for Google (NASDAQ: GOOGL). He is currently focused on shared spectrum opportunities in
mid-band spectrum, among other things. He was previously program
director for spectrum management at the U.S. National Science
Foundation, where he was the creator of a $60 million research program
to support enhanced access to the radio spectrum. Prior to NSF, he was
lead member of technical staff for Cingular Wireless (now AT&T
Mobility), a senior engineer at Comsearch, and a research scientist at
the Naval Research Laboratory. He holds a PhD in radio astronomy from
the University of Virginia. He will serve as Member at Large.

Prakash Moorut has over 20 years of experience in spectrum
research, strategy, regulation, standardization and industry activities.
He is currently the global Head of Spectrum Standardization for Nokia
(NYSE:NOK). In this role, he is responsible for defining and executing
Nokia's spectrum strategy and leading Nokia's engagement on spectrum
standardization and policy work with customers, in industry groups and
in regional/international groups such as ITU-R, CEPT, CITEL, APT and
with national regulatory authorities such as the FCC, Germany's BNetzA,
China's MIIT, etc. He has earned various industry recognitions,
including for the work he led to open 3.5GHz to mobility in Europe and
more recently, as Chair of WInnForum Spectrum Sharing Committee Working
Group 3 that defined the detailed protocols for data and communications
across the various open interfaces within the Citizens Broadband Radio
Service system. He was also the Technical Program Co-Chair of the 7th
IEEE Symposium on New Frontiers in Dynamic Spectrum Access Networks
(DySPAN 2014) and currently chairs the mmWave Coalition whose mission is
to advocate for the use of spectrum above 95 GHz. Before joining Nokia,
he worked for Motorola where he created and led a customer facing
spectrum engineering group located in USA, France, and China. He has
several publications and patents related to spectrum usage. He received
his MSEE degree from "Ecole Supérieure d'Electricité" (SUPELEC) in
Paris, France. He will serve as Member at Large.

The Forum would like to thank outgoing members Claude Belisle of
NordiaSoft, Al Jette of Nokia, Preston Marshall of Google, and Paul
Anuszkiewicz of CTIA for their service.

Individuals continuing on the Board include Manuel Uhm of National
Instruments (NASDAQ:NATI) as Chair of the Board of Directors, Bruce
Oberlies of Motorola Solutions (NYSE:MSI) as Forum Chair/President,
David Hagood of Viavi Solutions (NASDAQ:VIAV) as Forum
Vice-Chair/Vice-President, John Glossner of Optimum Semiconductor
Technologies as Secretary, Ken Dingman of Harris (NYSE:HRS) as
Treasurer, Louise Lamont of CRC as Chief Technology Officer, Mark Gibson
of CommScope (NASDAQ:COMM) Company as Chief Regulatory Officer, Paul
Challoner of Ericsson (NASDAQ:ERIC) as Large Company Representative,
Alberto Quintana of Indra Sistemas (OTCMKTS: ISMAY) as Medium Company
Representative, Kurt Schaubach of Federated Wireless as Small Company
Representative, and Marc Adrat of Fraunhofer as Government and Non
Profit Representative. Members at Large include R. Muralidharan of Tata
Power SED, Neeti Tandon of AT&T (NYSE:T), Doug Knisely of Qualcomm
(NASDAQ:QCOM), Jean Philippe Delahaye of DGA, and Pierre Jean Muller of
RED Technologies (OTCMKTS: RBTI).

Management and oversight of the Forum as a whole, including the Forum's
corporate affairs, is performed by the Forum Board of Directors. WInnForum
are dedicated to advocating for the innovative use of
spectrum and advancing radio technologies that support essential or
critical communications worldwide. Through events,
and initiatives the Forum acts as the premier venue for its
members to collaborate to achieve these objectives, providing
opportunities to network with customers, partners and competitors,
educate decision makers, develop and expand markets and advance relevant
technologies. To learn more about the Forum visit

About the Wireless Innovation Forum

Established in 1996, The Wireless Innovation Forum (SDR Forum Version
2.0) is a non-profit mutual benefit corporation dedicated to advocating
for spectrum innovation, and advancing radio technologies that support
essential or critical communications worldwide. Members bring a broad
base of experience in Software Defined Radio (SDR), Cognitive Radio (CR)
and Dynamic Spectrum Access (DSA) technologies in diverse markets and at
all levels of the wireless value chain to address emerging wireless
communications requirements. To learn more about The Wireless Innovation
Forum, its meetings and membership benefits, visit

View Comments and Join the Discussion!