Market Overview

Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame Inducts 10 New Members at 22nd Annual Ceremony


Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame Inducts 10 New Members at 22nd Annual Ceremony

The region's most accomplished athletes and individuals among those being inducted

PR Newswire

CHICAGO, Aug. 23, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- The Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame (CSHOF) will hold its 22nd annual induction ceremony on Wednesday, October 3rd at McCormick Square's newest facility, the state-of-the-art Wintrust Arena. This year's Hall of Fame honors 10 outstanding individuals who make Chicago a world-class sports town.

To purchase tickets:

Legendary place-kicker for the 1985 Super Bowl Champion Chicago Bears, Kevin Butler, leads the list of honored athletes, along with 2018 Olympic Gold Medal goalie for Women's Hockey Kendall Coyne Schofeld, who will be honored with the Stan Mikita Award.  Notre Dame Women's basketball coach and NCAA Champion, Muffet McGraw, will accept the Ray Meyer Award.

This year, Edward J. (Ed) Wehmer, President and CEO of Wintrust, will be honored as the Chicago Sports Advocate of the Year.  In addition to the Wintrust Arena, Mr. Wehmer and Wintrust support many of Chicago's sports teams and, in 2018, served as the local sponsor for Olympic and Paralympic Athletes at the 2018 Winter Games in Pyeongyang, South Korea.

"It is an honor and privilege to host the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame at the Wintrust Arena," said Lori T. Healey, CEO of the Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority (MPEA). "This is the third year to have this celebration on our campus and it is always one of the most inspiring and empowering events, bringing together athletes and the community, and this year, with proceeds supporting the Special Olympics 50th Anniversary, it will be even more powerful."

"We're honored to induct a class of such outstanding individuals into the 2018 Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame and celebrate their achievements in the Chicago sports community," said Charlie Carey, Board President of CSHOF. "Each year, the CSHOF induction ceremony brings together Chicago's finest athletes, and we're grateful to our outstanding partners for making this momentous night possible."

In addition to Butler, Coyne and McGraw, this year's inductees include a variety of active and retired Chicago sports legends, including:

  • Loyola University head basketball coach Porter Moser, who led the Ramblers to their exciting Final Four finish last season.
  • Retired professional Soccer and Chicago Fire star, coach, and commentator, and Chicago Public School legend Frank Klopas.
  • Marine veteran and Afghan war hero Josh Misiewicz, a paralympian gold medal winner in sled hockey.
  • Mitch Rosen, program director of WSCR radio picking up the media award, as he celebrates 25 years with The Score and their contribution to sports journalism in Chicagoland.
  • Rob Ninkovich, NFL great with the Saints, Dolphins and Patriots, two-time Super Bowl Champion, and Lincoln Way HS alum will be accepting The George Connor Award. 
  • College All-American, NFL legend, and six time pro bowl running back, and 1999 Pro Football Hall of Famer Eric Dickerson will receive The Gale Sayers Award.

NBC5 Chicago sportscaster Peggy Kusinski will emcee the induction dinner. The event benefits the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame Charities, a 501c3 tax-exempt organization in Illinois honoring those who have distinguished themselves through their contribution to sports. VIP cocktails are from 5:30-6:30PM, with dinner and induction starting at 7PM Wednesday, October 3rd at Wintrust Arena, 200 E. Cermak Ave, Chicago, 60616. Tickets are $225 each, with tables of ten starting at  $2,000.

Proceeds from the event typically support World Sport Chicago, the Chicago Sports Commission, and Father John Smyth's Standing Tall Foundation, which provides resources and opportunities for homeless, undeserved and at-risk youth to develop and establish a safe, secure and productive lifestyle.  This year's proceeds will support Special Olympics during its 50th Anniversary in recognition of its birthplace in Chicago and its role in promoting inclusion for all athletes throughout the world. 

For more information please visit:

Media Contact
Cynthia McCafferty 


Cision View original content:

SOURCE Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame

View Comments and Join the Discussion!