Market Overview

AACUC Names Adrian S. Johnson as Chairman


Adrian S. Johnson elected as new Board Chairman for the AACUC

ATLANTA (PRWEB) August 17, 2018

The African-American Credit Union Coalition, (AACUC), elected the new Executive Committee for 2018-2019 during the 20th Annual Conference held in Atlanta, Georgia, August 7 – 11, 2018. The AACUC Board of Directors announced Adrian S. Johnson, SVP/CFO of MECU in Baltimore, MD., as the new Chairman. He succeeds Timothy L. Anderson, President and CEO, Government Printing Office FCU. Johnson is the tenth Chairperson to lead the national organization.

Johnson is a graduate of University of Baltimore with a BS in Accounting. He received his MBA in Business Administration from Loyola University in MD. He is a CUES Certified Chief Executive (CCE). He is a member of the Senior Leadership Team at MECU, and oversees Accounting/Finance, which includes Accounting, Liquidity Management, Balance Sheet Management and the Fixed Income Bond Portfolio. He has been a member of the AACUC since 2002. Johnson currently served as the Chairman of the AACUC Reaching Toward the Future Internship Program. He is also a founding member of the AACUC Eastern Regional Chapter. Johnson has received numerous awards. He was recognized by the Baltimore Business Journal in June 2014 as one of eight top CFOs in the region.

Following his election, Johnson shared with the membership: "I appreciate the board's confidence in electing me chairman of the organization. I look forward to working with our new executive team, talented group of board members, and executive director."

At the business meeting, the membership elected to 3-year terms, one new board member, Tracey Jackson, CFO, Delaware State Police FCU, and re-elected incumbents Timothy L. Anderson and Adrian S. Johnson. The new executive officers and board members are: Chairman, Adrian S. Johnson; Vice Chairman, Larry Sewell, VP Corporate Partnerships & Advocacy, Anheuser-Busch Employees' Credit Union; Treasurer, Ed Presnell, Business Development Executive, Peach State FCU ; Secretary, Lynette W. Smith, President and CEO of Washington Gas Light FCU. Board members include: Timothy L. Anderson; Tracey Jackson; Maurice Smith, President/CEO of Local Government FCU; Dorthy Mack, Senior Vice President, Northwest Division Executive, CO-OP Financial Services; and Sheilah Montgomery, Board Secretary, 1st Choice FCU.

During the conference, Sheilah Montgomery received the Pete Crear Lifetime Achievement Award, and Carolyn Adele Brooks, Board Member, SecurityPlus FCU; Goldie Randle, Board Member and Louisiana Sanders, Board Secretary, both from SRP FCU were inducted into the AACUC's African American Credit Union Hall of Fame.

The AACUC was created to increase the strength of the global credit union community. In 2003 the AACUC became a 501c3 non-profit organization. Over the years, AACUC has grown and is ever changing to meet the needs of the dynamic credit union community which it serves. The AACUC Members are individuals (professionals and volunteers) in credit unions, insurance, regulators, consultants and other entities in the credit union industry.

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

View Comments and Join the Discussion!