Market Overview

iBIO Institute Announces Honorees of 12th Annual iCON Awards


Leaders will be honored at the 12th annual iCON Awards Dinner on
October 2 at The Chicago Botanic Garden

The iBIO Institute today announced the honorees of the twelfth
annual iCON Awards – the region's most prestigious honor for life
sciences educators, researchers and civic visionaries. The iCON
Awards celebrate the accomplishments of outstanding innovators and
leaders whose work provides the basis for life sciences developments
worldwide. Tickets/table registrations and sponsorship opportunities are
now available for purchase on iBIO's website.
Funds raised at the iCON Awards ceremony supports the mission of the
iBIO Institute, a 501(c)3 public charity, which orchestrates business
leadership in delivery of world-class educational after-school programs
and summer STEM camps for girls grades 3-8 in underserved Illinois

The 2018 Civic iCON Award will be presented to The Stanley Manne
Children's Research Institute. Thomas Shanley, MD, Chairman of
Pediatrics at Lurie Children's Hospital and President and Chief Research
Officer at The Manne Research Institute, will accept the award on behalf
of the organization. For more than 30 years, the research at Ann &
Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago has been conducted
through The Stanley Manne Children's Research Institute, which focuses
on improving child health and transforming pediatric medicine to ensure
healthier futures for patients. The Manne Institute actively innovates
in STEM by implementing community health programs in Chicago's
underserved neighborhoods.

"This year's iCON Award honorees are leaders and innovators in their
respective fields," said Walt Johnston, Senior Vice President, Sales and
Marketing at Astellas Pharma US, Inc. and Chair of the iBIO Institute
Board. "Whether through education, industry or advocacy, all have made a
lasting impact in Illinois and beyond."

The 2018 iCON Entrepreneurial Award honoree is Sean Nolan, CEO of
AveXis, a leading gene therapy company developing treatments for rare
and life-threatening neurological genetic diseases. This award
recognizes a pioneering entrepreneur who is a risk taker and visionary

Mr. Nolan has served as the CEO of AveXis since 2015 and led the company
through a dynamic growth period which included the generation of
transformational clinical data for its lead product that treats patients
suffering from Type 1 Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA), the number one
genetic cause of infant mortality. Prior to joining AveXis, Mr. Nolan
worked for InterMune in San Francisco as the company's Executive Vice
President and Chief Business Officer where he was responsible for
building and leading the North American commercial organization in
preparation for the anticipated U.S. launch of pirfenidone, a treatment
for Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis, a devastating orphan disease.

The 2018 iCON Innovator Award will be given to Dr. Maryellen Giger, the
A.N. Pritzker Professor of Radiology, the Committee on Medical Physics,
and the College, and Vice-Chair for Basic Science Research in the
Department of Radiology at the University of Chicago.

Dr. Giger is considered to be one of the pioneers in the development of
computer-aided diagnosis (CAD). She has authored or co-authored more
than 220 peer-reviewed journal articles, is an inventor on over 35 U.S.
patents, and serves as a reviewer for various national and international
granting agencies including the National Institute of Health and the
U.S. Army. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE)
and was awarded the William D. Coolidge Gold Medal from the American
Association of Physicists in Medicine, the highest award given by the
AAPM. In 2013, she was named by the International Congress on Medical
Physics (ICMP) as one of the 50 medical physicists with the most impact
on the field in the last 50 years.

The iCON Knowledge Builder Award will be presented to Allison Hennings,
a biology teacher at Oak Park River Forest High School in Oak Park,
Illinois, where she leads the school's award-winning independent
research program. For the last six years, Ms. Hennings has actively
encouraged her students to participate in iBIO's annual Illinois
BioGENEius Competition, and every year OPRF students represent a
significant majority of BioGENEius participants based on selection and
quality of their projects. Last year, one of her students won the
statewide competition and went on to compete in the international
competition in Boston over the summer. Before becoming a high school
teacher, Ms. Hennings was an intensive care nurse at Loyola University's
Medical Center for 12 years.

The iBIO Institute will award a fifth award at this year's event called
the iCON Community Award, which will be presented to an iBIO member
organization that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to the
communities it serves in Illinois. The winner of the iCON Community
Award will be announced at the event on October 2.

"The iBIO Institute brings the life sciences industry together to
inspire young students and teachers, launch groundbreaking life science
startups and connect patients with cutting-edge treatments," said John
Conrad, president and CEO of iBIO and the iBIO Institute.
"The iCON Award honorees embody this spirit by dedicating their own
talents and resources to worthwhile pursuits that better the lives of

For more information on the iCON Awards Dinner, please visit
The twelfth annual iBIO iCON Awards Dinner will take place October 2 at
The Chicago Botanic Garden.

About iBIO Institute

The mission of the iBIO Institute, established in 2003 by the Illinois
Biotechnology Innovation Organization (iBIO), is to orchestrate business
leadership in delivery of world-class educational programs and
job-creating new technology ventures. The Institute's EDUCATE Center
delivers science and math programs for teachers and students, thereby
inspiring the next generation of innovators and helping restore
America's leadership in technology education.

To learn more about the iBIO Institute and its programs, visit

View Comments and Join the Discussion!