Market Overview

Claremont Rug Company Pyramid Video Explains How to Evaluate Antique Oriental Rugs


Claremont Rug Company today released the second of a continuing
educational series of videos (
designed to guide collectors and connoisseurs make informed decisions
regarding acquiring antique Oriental rugs. Featuring commentary by
globally recognized expert Jan David Winitz, who founded the Gallery in
1980, the video describes rugs in a proprietary Six-Level Antique Rug
Pyramid™ he developed.

This press release features multimedia. View the full release here:

In the video, he explains the history and characteristics of Oriental
rugs woven from the 13th century through modern day
reproductions. Level 1 "Museum-level" rugs (13th through 18th
century) are held primarily by royal families and in museum collections.
The best 19th century rugs in Level 2 ("High-Collectible")
and Level 3 ("Connoisseur-Caliber") are considered the prime targets for
collectors and connoisseurs, art objects whose values have risen
steadily since the late 20th century. Level 4
("High-Decorative," late 19th and the turn of the 20th
century) are usually used in elite home décor. Carpets in Levels 5 and 6
are by and large reproductions, made with chemical dyes, and, while
decorative, have virtually no investment value.

More information and additional videos are available at the Claremont
website (

View Comments and Join the Discussion!