Market Overview

Elevation in Trauma Center Level Granted to One Hospital in Pennsylvania


Elevation in Trauma Center Level Granted to One Hospital in Pennsylvania

PR Newswire

CAMP HILL, Pa., July 24, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- An elevation from a Level II accreditation level to a Level I accreditation level has been granted to one hospital in Pennsylvania starting September 1, 2018.

Reading Hospital – Tower Health, West Reading, PA

In Pennsylvania, there are four levels of trauma centers. Level I trauma centers provide the highest degree of resources with a full spectrum of specialists and must have trauma research and surgical residency programs.  Level II trauma centers require the same high level of care but do not require research and residency programs and the following subspecialists: cardiac surgery, hand surgery, vascular re-implantation, oral/maxillofacial surgery, otorhinolaryngological surgery, neurology, physiatry and psychiatry. Level III trauma centers are smaller community hospitals that do not require neurosurgeons and focus on care of moderately severe trauma patients with transport of severe injuries to a higher-level trauma center.  Level IV trauma centers provide enhanced care to injured patients within the emergency department and focus on stabilization and quick transfer to a higher-level trauma center. They may admit mildly injured patients.

Trauma centers are hospitals with resources immediately available to provide optimal care and reduce the likelihood of death or disability to injured patients.  Accredited trauma centers must be continuously prepared to treat the most serious life threatening and disabling injuries.  They are not intended to replace the traditional hospital and its emergency department for minor injuries. 

Each trauma center regardless of its level is an integral component of the emergency medical services (EMS) system.  The EMS system assures appropriate patient care management from the time of injury to treatment at a local hospital or trauma center through the rehabilitative phase of care. Currently, there are 40 trauma centers in Pennsylvania.

The Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation (PTSF) is a non-profit corporation recognized by the Emergency Medical Services Act (Act 1985-45).  The PTSF is the organization responsible for accrediting trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

A comprehensive list of the Commonwealth's trauma centers is located at

Cision View original content:

SOURCE Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation

View Comments and Join the Discussion!