Market Overview

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Names 2018 Preseason Watchlist


The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame has released the 2018 Paycom Jim Thorpe
Award Preseason Watchlist.

This list includes 35 of the nation's best defensive backs, representing
11 conferences. The preseason watchlist is selected by a screening
committee who compiles a list of 30-50 players. This list is not final,
and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award annually recognizes the best defensive
back in college football.
The award is based on performance on the
field, athletic ability and character. As such, it is considered one of
the most coveted awards in college football.

The award recipient is selected by the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award National
Selection Committee, which boasts members of the NCFAA, an Oklahoma
Sports Hall of Fame in-house award committee, former Paycom Jim Thorpe
Award recipients, and sportswriters and college football journalists
throughout the country.

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award was established in 1986 and is named after
the greatest all-around athlete in history, Jim Thorpe. As a native
Oklahoman, Thorpe excelled not only as a running back, passer and kicker
on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive
back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field,
Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the
decathlon and pentathlon.

Paycom Software, Inc. ("Paycom") (NYSE:PAYC), a leading provider of
comprehensive, cloud-based human capital management software, and the
Jim Thorpe Museum and Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame (OSHOF) jointly
announced in May 2017, an exclusive sponsorship of the Jim Thorpe Award.
As such, the accolade is called the "Paycom Jim Thorpe Award."

The 2018 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists
and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards
Presented by Gildan on Thursday, December 6, 2018, on ESPN. The Paycom
Jim Thorpe Award commemorative banquet will be held on Tuesday, February
5, 2019, in Oklahoma City.

The 2018 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watchlist
defensive backs will be added as their season performance progresses)

Dravon Askew-Henry, Sr.         West Virginia
DeAndre Baker, Sr.         Georgia
Kris Boyd, Sr.         Texas
Blace Brown, Sr.         Troy
Kyron Brown, Sr.         Akron
T.J. Carter, So.         Memphis
Justin Clifton, Sr.         Arkansas State
Lukas Denis, Sr.         Boston College
D'Cota Dixon, Sr.         Wisconsin
David Dowell, Jr.         Michigan State
Clifton Duck, Jr.         Appalachian State
Mike Edwards, Sr.         Kentucky
Jordan Fuller, Jr.         Ohio State
Kyle Gibson, Sr.         Central Florida
Mark Gilbert, Jr.         Duke
Malik Grant, Jr.         Marshall
Lavert Hill, Jr.         Michigan
Javon Hagan, Jr.         Ohio
Tyler Horton, Sr.         Boise State
Michael Jackson, Sr.         Miami-FL
Jah'Shawn Johnson, Sr.         Texas Tech
Jaquan Johnson, Sr.         Miami-FL
Shelton Lewis, Sr.         Florida Atlantic
Julian Love, Jr.         Notre Dame
Iman Marshall, Sr.         USC
Byron Murphy, So.         Washington
Kekoa Nawahine, Jr.         Boise State
Delvon Randall, Sr.         Temple
Taylor Rapp, Jr.         Washington
J.R. Reed, Jr.         Georgia
Amik Robertson, So.         Louisiana Tech
Marvell Tell III, Sr.         USC
Greedy Williams, So.         LSU
Andrew Wingard, Sr.         Wyoming
Jalen Young, Sr.         Florida Atlantic

By Conference: AAC (3), ACC (4), Big 10 (4), Big 12 (3), C-USA (4), IND
(1), MAC (2), MW (3), PAC-12 (4), SEC (4), Sun Belt (3)

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football
Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football's most
prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA, and its now 23 awards,
boasts over 800 recipients dating back to 1935. Visit
to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watchlists over a
two-week period. Sixteen of the association's 23 awards select a
preseason watchlist, and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort
to promote each award's preseason candidates. Following is the complete
2018 Preseason Watchlist Calendar.

Mon, July 16         Bednarik Award / Maxwell Trophy
Tues, July 17         Davey O'Brien Award
Wed, July 18         Doak Walker Award
Thurs, July 19         Biletnikoff Award
Fri, July 20         John Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Mon, July 23         Butkus Award / Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Tues, July 24         Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Wed, July 25         Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thurs, July 26         Paul Hornung Award / Wuerffel Trophy
Fri, July 27         Walter Camp Award

View Comments and Join the Discussion!