Market Overview

Liberty University Board of Trustees Welcomes Nine New Members


Liberty University recently announced nine new Board of Trustees members, who were elected for three-year terms at biannual board meeting on Nov. 15.

Lynchburg, Va. (PRWEB) January 03, 2014

Liberty University recently announced nine new Board of Trustees members, who were elected for three-year terms at biannual board meeting on Nov. 15.

“Liberty University is a young university and is blessed to be served by what I call a ‘first generation' Board of Trustees, many of whom were instrumental in founding the university,” said President Jerry Falwell, Jr. “I applaud the foresight and wisdom they displayed in November by appointing a new generation of board members, ensuring Liberty's continuing commitment to its Christian foundations and ensuring an orderly transition to the next generation of leadership.”

Falwell said he appreciated the dedication of all the board members, many who traveled long distances to attend the meeting. Tim and Beverly LaHaye arrived from California and chairman Dr. Jerry Prevo traveled from Alaska.

Falwell also thanked the LaHayes and current board member, Sherwin Cook, for donating generously to facilities that have expanded recreational opportunities for students. The LaHayes donated money for the LaHaye Ice Center, which is used by Liberty's five hockey teams and figure skating and synchronized skating teams, and by the community for skating leagues and public ice skating. Cook donated money for the Cook Tennis Center on campus and donated the Sports Racket, an indoor tennis and racquetball facility in Lynchburg.

The board currently consists of 41 pastors and business leaders from all over the country. They will reconvene in the spring.

Liberty's newest Board of Trustees members include William Franklin Graham IV ('97) of Asheville, N.C.; Steven A. Snyder ('82), Tigerville, S.C.; Jeffrey and Gaye Benson ('83) ('82), Chesapeake, Va.; Anthony Beckles, Sr. ('83), Lynchburg, Va.; The Rev. Jason Suitt (2000), Lynchburg, Va.; Glen Thomas, Lynchburg, Va.; Jimmy Thomas, Jr. ('84), Lynchburg, Va.; and
Dr. Ronald S. Godwin, Lynchburg, Va. (View biographies of the newest members on Liberty's News & Events page.)

Liberty University Board of Trustees
(Terms expire in November of each year)
Dr. Jerry Prevo, Chairman
Harvey Gainey, Vice Chairman
Jerry Falwell, Jr., Chancellor and President

Members, term to expire 2014
Wayne Booth
Fleet Browning
Dr. Doyle Chauncey
J. Marion Compton
Sherwin Cook
Dr. Jack Dinsbeer
John Heath
Carroll Hudson
Dr. David Rhodenhizer
Jimmy Thomas, Sr.
Dr. Jerry Thorpe

Members, term to expire 2015
Dr. Mark Becton
Dr. Don Crain
Mark DeMoss
Jerry Falwell, Jr.
Harvey Gainey
Jeff Ginn
Dr. Beverly LaHaye
Dr. Tim LaHaye
Tim Lee
Dr. Allen McFarland
Richard Osborne
Dr. Dwight Reighard
Gilbert Tinney, Jr.
Rev. Carl Weiser
Jeffery S. Yager

Members, term to expire 2016

Anthony Beckles
Gaye Overton Benson
Jeffrey F. Benson
Dr. Ronald S. Godwin
William Franklin Graham IV
Rev. Jason Suitt
Steven A. Snyder
Glen Thomas
Jimmy Thomas, Jr.

Neal Askew
Rev. Jonathan Falwell
Dr. Gene Mims
Galen E. Peel, Sr.
Dr. Jerry Prevo
Dr. Jerry Vines

About Liberty University
Liberty University, founded in 1971, is the largest private, nonprofit university in the nation, the largest university in Virginia, and the largest Christian university in the world. More than 100,000 students attend classes on its 7,000-acre residential campus and study in its thriving online education program.

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

View Comments and Join the Discussion!
Don't Miss Any Updates!
News Directly in Your Inbox
Subscribe to:
Benzinga Premarket Activity
Get pre-market outlook, mid-day update and after-market roundup emails in your inbox.
Market in 5 Minutes
Everything you need to know about the market - quick & easy.
Fintech Focus
A daily collection of all things fintech, interesting developments and market updates.
Thank You

Thank you for subscribing! If you have any questions feel free to call us at 1-877-440-ZING or email us at