Market Overview

RSA® Conference 2013 Announces Recipients of 16th Annual Awards for Excellence in Information Security & Excellence in Mathematics


RSA Conference (, the world's leading information security conferences and expositions, today announced the first recipients of its 16th annual awards program in the fields of information security and mathematics.

The recipients of this year's RSA Conference Awards are:

Excellence in the Field of Information Security Award

Financial Services Information Sharing & Analysis Center (FS-ISAC)

Accepted on organization's behalf: Bill Nelson, President and CEO, FS-ISAC

Launched in 1999, FS-ISAC was established by the financial services sector in response to 1998's Presidential Directive 63. That directive - later updated by 2003's Homeland Security Presidential Directive 7 - mandated that the public and private sectors share information about physical and cyber security threats and vulnerabilities to help protect the U.S. critical infrastructure. The FS-ISAC is uniquely positioned to quickly disseminate threat alerts and other critical information to organizations within the financial services sector. By sharing information about malicious attacks and threats, they have been able to thwart both physical and cyber attacks.

FS-ISAC developed the ACH Network into one of the largest electronic payment systems in the world and administered NACHA's rule-making, marketing, rules enforcement, education and government relations programs. In addition, their work with the U.S. Treasury, FDIC, Department of Homeland Security, and other government agencies has allowed the organization to become an operating arm for disaster response and planning for responding to both cyber and physical attacks.

Excellence in the Field of Mathematics Award

Jean-Jacques Quisquater, Professor, Catholic University of Louvain

Dr. Claus Schnorr, Professor, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University

Professor Jean-Jacques Quisquater and Dr. Claus Schnorr have both contributed pioneering work in efficient zero-knowledge authentication schemes. The GQ and Schnorr identification and signature schemes represent a seminal translation of cryptographic theory into practice. Their work has had a major impact on the early development of the smartcard industry.

The awards for Excellence in Public Policy will be announced on Friday, March 1 at RSA Conference 2013 at Moscone Center in San Francisco.

About RSA Conference

RSA Conference helps drive the global information security agenda with annual events in the U.S., Europe, and Asia. Since 1991, RSA Conference consistently attracts the best and brightest in the field, creating opportunities to learn about information security's most important issues through face-to-face and online interactions with peers, luminaries and emerging and established companies. As information security professionals work to stay ahead of ever-changing security threats and trends, they turn to RSA Conference for a 360-degree view of the industry. RSA Conference seeks to arm participants with the knowledge they need to remain at the forefront of the information security business. More information on events, online programming and the most up-to-date news pertaining to the information security industry can be found at

RSA and the RSA Conference logo are either registered trademarks or trademarks of EMC Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. All other products and/or services referenced are trademarks of their respective companies.

SHIFT Communications
Michael Fearon, 617-779-1807

View Comments and Join the Discussion!