Market Overview

Horatio Alger Announces the 2013 Horatio Alger Award Recipients & Norman Vincent Peale Award Recipient


Eleven business and nonprofit leaders named for coveted Annual Horatio Alger Award--recognizing people who beat the odds to achieve the American Dream

Washington DC (PRWEB) November 05, 2012

The Board of Directors of the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., announced the Horatio Alger Award recipients for 2013. This is an elite group of 11 entrepreneurial and nonprofit leaders who have achieved the American Dream via extraordinary accomplishments:

-John A. Canning, Jr. Chairman, Madison Dearborn Partners
-Thomas J. Donohue President and CEO, United States Chamber of Commerce
-Richard H. Driehaus Founder and Chairman, Driehaus Capital Management LLC
-J. Russell Flowers Chairman and CEO, J. Russell Flowers, Inc.
-Patrick P. Lee Chairman, Patrick P. Lee Foundation; Chairman and CEO, International Motion Control, Inc.
-Bonnie McElveen-Hunter Owner and CEO, Pace Communications;
Chairman, American Red Cross-Jeffrey A. Rich, Managing Director, PlumTree Partners, LLC
-Matthew K. Rose, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, BNSF Railway Company
-Larry Ruvo Senior Managing Director, Southern Wine and Spirits of Nevada
-International Recipient–Canada Isadore Sharp Founder and Chairman,
Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
-Richard C. Slocum Head Football Coach – Retired, Texas A&M University;
Special Advisor to the President Texas A&M University

“We are proud to announce the Horatio Alger Award recipients for 2013,” said Tony Novelly, President and CEO, Horatio Alger Association. “Each of these individuals serves as a role model of what can be achieved through free enterprise with hard work, vision and perseverance. We are honored that these individuals will join with us in advancing the Horatio Alger Association's mission to assist at-risk youth with college scholarships and to encourage all people to pursue their own versions of the American Dream.”

Those honored with the awards are inducted as members of the association. These members are dedicated business and community leaders who demonstrate initiative and commitment to excellence – illustrated by outstanding achievements accomplished through honesty, hard work, self-reliance and perseverance over adversity. Potential members must have a strong commitment to assisting those less fortunate and be willing to contribute to the mission of providing scholarships for younger generations.

During the awards ceremonies in April 2013, the 2013 Norman Vincent Peale Award will be presented to Joseph Neubauer, Chairman of the Board, ARAMARK Corporation. The Norman Vincent Peale Award is annually conferred on an association member who has made exceptional humanitarian contributions to society, who has been an active participant in the association, and who continues to exhibit courage, tenacity and integrity in the face of challenges. The award is named in honor of Dr. Peale, who was an outstanding leader of the association for more than 40 years.

The new members will be inducted next spring in Washington, D.C., at the Horatio Alger Awards Induction Ceremonies. Festivities will take place April 4-6, 2013, and will include three days of meetings and celebrations in some of the most historic buildings in our nation's capital. The Horatio Alger National Scholars, remarkable high school seniors, are also formally honored during the three-day gathering. Members of the press who have questions may contact Holly Rollins at 864.420.1127.

Founded in 1947, the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans celebrates those individuals in our society whose determination and hard work have enabled them to overcome life's obstacles to achieve success. As a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit, the Association provides college scholarships and mentorship to at-risk students who demonstrate courage in the face of adversity and dedication to pursuing higher education. The Horatio Alger Association has awarded almost $100 million to nearly 20,000 Scholars since the inception of its scholarship programs in 1984.

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

View Comments and Join the Discussion!