Market Overview

FierceGovernmentIT Announces First Annual "Fierce 15" Winners


Award Recognizes Innovation & Creativity in the Government Sector

(PRWEB) October 29, 2012

FierceGovernmentIT ( today announced its first annual “Fierce 15” list of the top federal employees. FierceGovernmentIT conducted interviews with government officials and industry to identify some of the most innovative projects and forward-thinking people working in government IT. From that pool, editors collaboratively selected this year's Fierce 15.

“The Fierce 15 is an opportunity to share some great stories happening in government. We've highlighted people from an array of areas and disciplines--from health information technology, to cloud computing, to mobility,” said David Perera, Executive Editor of FierceMarkets' Government Group.

An internationally recognized thrice-weekly e-newsletter reaching more than 24,500 Federal employees and IT executives, FierceGovernmentIT provides subscribers with a quick authoritative briefing on the latest technological developments in the U.S. government, with a special focus on developments in cybersecurity, Gov 2.0, and cloud computing. Sign up is free at

The "Fierce 15" champions innovation and creativity. The 2012 Fierce 15 winners are:

1.    Accumulo Team, National Security Agency
2.    Niall Brennan, Director of Information Products and Data Analytics, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
3.    Gray Brooks, API Strategist, General Services Administration
4.    Brent Bushey, Program Manager of Alien Criminal Response Information Management System, Immigrations and Customs Enforcement
5.    Greg Elin, Chief Data Officer, Federal Communications Commission
6.    The FOIAonline Team: Tim Crawford Senior Advisor to the Director of the Office of Information Collection, Environmental Protection Agency; Larry F. Gottesman, National FOIA officer, Environmental Protection Agency; Joey Hutcherson, Deputy Director for Open Government, Commerce Department; and Miriam Nisbet, Director of the Office of Government Information Services, National Archives and Records Administration
7.    Jeremy Grant, Head of the National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace National Program Office
8.    DJ Kachman, Director of Mobile and Security Assurance, Veterans Affairs Department
9.    Shawn Kingsberry, Chief Information Officer, Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board
10.    Dawn Leaf, Senior Advisor for Cloud Computing, National Institute of Standards and Technology
11.    Terry Milholland, Chief Technology Officer, Internal Revenue Service
12.    Dan Risacher, Enterprise Services and Integration Associate Director, Defense Department
13.    Donna Roy, Executive Director, Information Sharing Environment Office, Homeland Security Department
14.    Stephen Smalley, Computer Security Researcher, Trusted Systems Research, National Security Agency
15.    Val Stoyanov, Information Security Program Manager, Homeland Security Department

For the original version on PRWeb visit:

View Comments and Join the Discussion!