Market Overview

Governor General Presents Diamond Jubilee Medal to 34 Canadians at the From Far and Wide: Honouring Great Canadians Exhibit


OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Oct. 31, 2012) - His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, presented the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to 34 recipients at the exhibit From Far and Wide - Honouring Great Canadians, on Wednesday, October 31, 2012. The names of the recipients and their citations are attached.

From Far and Wide - Honouring Great Canadians is part of the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General's public programming. For more information about this exhibit, please visit For more information about the Diamond Jubilee Medal program, please visit

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter


Rasha Al-Katta
Ottawa, Ontario

In recognition of her community service and her active volunteer work with
United Way Ottawa.

Deborah Apps
Montreal, Quebec

For her commitment and dedication to the Trans Canada Trail legacy project.

Danielle Arnold
Toronto, Ontario

For her commitment to promoting volunteerism in Toronto.

The Honourable Michel Bastarache, C.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his distinguished legal career and his commitment to the language rights
of minority communities.

The Honourable Monique Begin, P.C., O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For her active role in the fight for the rights of the less fortunate, and
for the rights of women, senior citizens, Aboriginal people and children.

Jean M. Belanger, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For creating the Responsible Care(R) program in order to protect our

Ian E. Bennett
Ottawa, Ontario

For his contributions to the production of several decorations and medals
(including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal), as master of the
Royal Canadian Mint since 2006.

Keisha Bernard
River Glade, Ontario

For her leadership, volunteer spirit and community involvement as a medical
first responder with St. John Ambulance.

Herbert Gideon Bown, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his contribution to information technology and for his important
discoveries in the field of image communications.

Donald J. Cardinal, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his internationally renowned work as an architect inspired by his
western roots and Metis heritage.

Judy Chiu
Burnaby, British Columbia

For her dedication as a mentor to younger volunteers and as a member of the
St. John Ambulance Cadet Division.

Michael Robert Dence, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his important contributions as an authority in scientific research.

Peter C. Dobell, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his contributions as the founder of the Parliamentary Centre and for his
commitment to policy formulation.

Denzil Doyle, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his role in the promotion, development and growth of Canada's high
technology industry.

Sister Lenore Gibb, C.M.
Pembroke, Ontario

For her humanitarian work overseas to help build schools and housing
projects, among other initiatives.

Lawrence Albert Gladue, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his work in developing and establishing social and economic programs for
Aboriginal people, especially those living in remote areas.

Naomi E.S. Griffiths, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For playing a key role in the incorporation of women's studies into the
doctoral history program at Carleton University.

Ivan A. Hale, C.M.
Alcove, Quebec

For setting up national and international educational exchange programs that
enable young people to visit other regions and experience different

Paul C. LaBarge
Ottawa, Ontario

For his dedication to the creation and development of the Trans Canada
from sea to sea to sea.

Marcel Lauziere
Ottawa, Ontario

For his role in promoting philanthropy and volunteerism in Canada.

Ophelia Lazaridis
Waterloo, Ontario

For her many philanthropic contributions, which have had a great impact on
education, science and Canadian communities.

The Honourable John P. Manley, P.C., O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

A respected statesman, he is recognized for his leadership in policy
development on
innovation and competitiveness.

Judith Maxwell, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For her lifetime contribution to Canadian public policy.

Sandra McDougall Wilson, C.M.
Montreal, Quebec

For her work as a musician and arts administrator, as well as founder of
several important arts organizations in Canada.

Patricia M. Messner, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

As an Olympian and World Champion, she has won 18 Canadian champion water
skiing titles during the 60s and 70s.

David J. Mullin
Ottawa, Ontario

For his commitment to improving patient care with St. John Ambulance.

Chris Neil and Caitlin Neil
Ottawa, Ontario

As honorary co-chairs of Roger's House, they help promote awareness and
fundraising for this important pediatric palliative care facility.

Don Newman, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

A highly respected journalist, he has encouraged integrity in reporting and
demystified complex political issues.

Pyer-Luc Parent
Saint-Georges de Beauce, Quebec

In recognition of his 5 000 volunteer hours of community work with St. John
Ambulance, which he joined when he was just 12 years old.

Tim Poon
Toronto, Ontario

For engaging young people through volunteerism and tackling some of the key
social issues in Toronto.

Bruce Sanford, C.M.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his work producing some of the most detailed geological maps of
different parts of Canada.

The Honourable Barry L. Strayer, O.C.
Ottawa, Ontario

For his instrumental role as one of the principal writers of the
Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

T. Russell Walter
Port Elgin, Ontario

For his dedicated volunteer work with St. John Ambulance in Port Elgin.

Media information:
Marie-Pierre Belanger
Rideau Hall Press Office

View Comments and Join the Discussion!