Market Overview

California Enacts National Popular Vote


Governor Brown today signed the National Popular Vote bill, which will award California's electoral votes to the winner of the overall popular vote in the entire United States. Since 2006, The National Popular Vote plan has been enacted by jurisdictions representing 132 electoral votes, 49% of the total 270 needed for the law to go into effect.

“California has joined a growing number of states unwilling to relegate themselves to the status of bystander in presidential elections,” said John Koza, Founder and Chairman of the non-partisan National Popular Vote organization. “This is a milestone in our effort to make sure every vote counts.”

The legislation only goes into effect when enacted by states with a majority (270 of 538) of the electoral votes. To date it has been adopted by eight states – California, Vermont, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Maryland, Illinois, Washington, Hawaii and the District of Columbia. It is under consideration in every state in the country.

"It comes down to states deciding they are tired of having their voters be ignored in presidential elections,” said Tom Golisano, the national spokesperson for National Popular Vote. "The president we choose represents this entire nation, and we should all count when making that choice.”

The bill passed the Senate in late July. California is the ninth state to enact the National Popular Vote bill, which was sponsored in California by Assembly member Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo).

National Popular Vote
Stephanie Sanchez, 203-536-2050
Peter Ragone,

View Comments and Join the Discussion!

Partner Center