Market Overview

Consumer Electronics Association Announces 2011 Executive Board and Board of Industry Leaders


The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)® today announced the election of its 2011 Executive Board and Board of Industry Leaders. CEA is the nation's preeminent trade association representing more than 2,000 consumer electronics and technology companies.

“Innovation is vital to our nation's economic recovery and growth, and CEA is proud to represent all facets of the technology industry, from manufacturer to retailer, device to content,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CEA. “With chief executives from the country's most successful technology businesses, CEA's Executive Board represents a cross-section of the technology sector and puts us in a strong position to meet the challenges and shape the strategic direction for our association and our industry.”

The members of CEA's Executive Board were confirmed by a vote of CEA's members at the CEA Industry Forum in San Francisco last week. Newly elected CEA Executive Board members include: Daniel Pidgeon, chairman, Starpower; Robert Struble, president and CEO, iBiquity; and Steve Tiffen, president and CEO, Tiffen Co.

Randy Fry, president of Fry's Electronics, will serve as CEA Executive Board chairman. Jay McLellan, president and CEO of Home Automation Inc. (HAI), will serve as vice chair. Gary Yacoubian, vice president, strategic development for Monster Cable Products Inc., will remain on the Executive Board as the immediate past chairman.

Previously elected CEA Executive Board members, who will continue their service, include the following: Brian Dunn, CEO, Best Buy; Denise Gibson, chairman, Brightstar U.S.; Stan Glasgow, chairman, Sony Electronics Inc., Chairman, Sony Electronics Inc., senior advisor, entrepreneurship and innovation, Sony Corporation of America; Ian Hendler, director, business development, Leviton Manufacturing Co.; Patrick Lavelle, president and CEO, Audiovox Corp.; and Mark Luden, president and CEO, Guitammer Co. CEA's Shapiro will serve on the Executive Board, with Glenda MacMullin, CFO, CEA, serving as treasurer and Karen Chupka, senior vice president, events and conferences, CEA, as secretary.

CEA also announced the election of its 2011 Board of Industry Leaders (BIL). The BIL serves CEA and its Executive Board in an advisory role, helping to set public policy positions and priorities for association activities.

“We are pleased so many top level executives have dedicated their time and talents to this voluntary board,” said Shapiro. “The BIL's broad experience across the industry will provide crucial guidance and direction for CEA staff and volunteer leadership in helping advance the technology sector.”

The new members of CEA's BIL include the following: Jim Bazet, chairman and CEO, Cobra Electronics; Doug Cole, senior vice president and general manager, Universal Remote Control; Kim Folsom, founder and CEO, ShowUhow Inc.; Dr. Levy Gerzberg, president and CEO, Zoran Corp.; John Godfrey, vice president, government and public affairs, Samsung Information Systems America Inc.; Joe Hartsig, vice president, GMM technology and entertainment, office division, Sam's Club; Loyd Ivey, chairman and CEO, MiTek Electronics and Communications; Glenn Lurie, president, emerging devices and resale, AT&T Craig McHugh, president and COO, Creative Labs Inc.; Mike Mohr, president, Celluphone; John Soumbasakis, senior vice president, strategic divisions, Ingram Micro Inc; John Taylor, vice president, LG Electronics, USA; and Joseph Taylor, chairman and CEO, Panasonic Corp. of North America.

CEA members who are continuing their service on the BIL in 2011 are as follows: Bruce Borenstein, executive vice president and founder, SaberGuard Identity Solutions; Tom Cumberland, vice president, research & development, Axiom Audio Ltd.; David Epstein, CTO, Integrated Energy Technologies Inc.; Peter Fannon, vice president, corporate and government affairs, Panasonic; Rachelle Friedman, president, J&R; Jim Hamilton, CEO, Identity Ventures LLC and vice chairman, board of directors, PowerMat, LLC; Steven Howcott, general manager, JVC Co. of America; Noel Lee, head monster, Monster ; Daniel Pidgeon, chairman, Starpower; David Rodarte, president and COO, NuVo Technologies LLC; George Stepancich, CEO, Invisionate; Ken Wirt, vice president, consumer marketing, Cisco Systems; Steve Witt, executive vice president, sales and marketing, DICE Electronics; Jay Buchanan, electronics division director/GMM, Nebraska Furniture Mart; Bryan Burns, vice president strategic business planning and development, ESPN; Lee Cheng, general counsel, Newegg, Inc.; Kathy Gornik, president, Thiel Audio; David Hagan, president and CEO, Boingo Wireless; Dr. Paul Liao, president and CEO, CableLabs; Henry Muyshondt, senior director, business development, SMSC; Luis Pineda, senior vice president, sales, marketing and product management, Qualcomm CDMA Technologies; Doug Solomon, CTO, IDEO; and Peter Lesser, president and CEO, X-10 (USA) Inc.

About CEA:

The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the preeminent trade association promoting growth in the $165 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. CEA also sponsors and manages the International CES – The Global Stage for Innovation. All profits from CES are reinvested into CEA's industry services. Find CEA online at


  • CES New York Press Preview featuring CES Unveiled @ NY
    November 9, 2010, New York, NY
  • Future of Television East
    November 19, 2010, New York, NY
  • 2011 International CES
    January 6-9, 2011, Las Vegas, NV

Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)
Steve Kidera, 703-907-4358
Megan Pollock, 703-907-7668

View Comments and Join the Discussion!