Market Overview

SPX Announces New Board Members


SPX Corporation (NYSE: SPW) today announced David A. Roberts and Dr. Ruth G. Shaw as new members of the Board of Directors for SPX Corporation, effective upon the previously announced spin-off of SPX FLOW, Inc. which is expected to be completed near the end of the third quarter.

In addition, Mr. Roberts has been elected to serve as Chair of the Compensation Committee and Dr. Shaw has been elected to serve as Chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee.

"We are very pleased to add two high quality individuals with strong track records of success to our Board. David and Ruth are strong leaders with extensive experience and industry knowledge," said Chris Kearney, Chairman, President and CEO of SPX Corporation. "With the appointments of David and Ruth, we have now completed the board structure for SPX Corporation. We believe the newly formed Board will provide great leadership and counsel to Gene Lowe and his team as they execute on and achieve the growth strategy for SPX Corporation following the spin-off of our FLOW business."

David A. Roberts has served as the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Carlisle Companies, Inc., a diversified manufacturing company, since 2007. He also serves as a director for Franklin Electric Co., Inc.

Mr. Roberts brings extensive experience in senior management of multinational companies, including expertise in the industrial and manufacturing sectors. Mr. Roberts also contributes strong financial acumen and experience from his service on various public company boards.

Dr. Ruth G. Shaw retired from Duke Energy Corporation in 2007 and served as Executive Advisor to the company until 2009. She previously served as Group Executive for Public Policy and President, Duke Nuclear from 2006 to 2007, President and Chief Executive Officer, Duke Power Company from 2003 to 2006, and Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer from 1997 to 2003, among other roles, from 1992. Dr. Shaw also serves as a director for The Dow Chemical Company and DTE Energy.

Dr. Shaw contributes a deep understanding of human resources management, executive compensation, information technology, communications, public relations, environment, health and safety management, procurement and diversity.

Contingent upon, and effective as of the completion of the spin-off, the Board of Directors for SPX Corporation, including committee assignments, is shown in the table below.

Committee Assignments

Board Member


Patrick O'Leary

(non-executive Chairman)
Former EVP and CFO of
SPX Corporation for 16 years

David Roberts
Chairman, President and CEO of
Carlisle Companies

Ruth Shaw
Former President and CEO, Duke Power Company

Rick Puckett
EVP, CFO and CAO of
Snyder's Lance, Inc.

Tana Utley
VP, Large Power Systems
Division of Caterpillar Inc.


Chris Kearney
Chairman, President and CEO of

Gene Lowe
President and CEO of SPX Corporation

Posted-In: News Management


Related Articles (SPW)

View Comments and Join the Discussion!
Lightning Fast
Market News Service
$199 Free 14 Day Trial

The Secure Content Storage Association (SCSA) Selects Rambus Cryptography Research to Help Secure Next-Generation Digital Video Content

K-Mart Pays $1.4M TO Resolve False Claims Act Violations