|Coverage||Minimum Amount||Company||12-Month Policy Rate|
|Bodily injury per person per accident||$25,000||Liberty Mutual||$324|
|Bodily injury for all persons per accident||$50,000||Dairyland||$528|
|Property damage liability||$25,000||Clearcover||$552|
|PIP (personal injury protection)||$0||SafeAuto||$588|
|Collision and comprehensive||$0||Hallmark||$600|
It’s important to be prepared for the worst-case scenario if you’re a car owner in the Buckeye State. Ohio requires a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage, usually for property damages and bodily injury. Let Benzinga help you find the best Ohio car insurance companies for state minimum coverage.
Ohio State Minimum Car Insurance
Tip: Compare 2-3 quotes.
Best Car Insurance in Ohio for State Minimum Coverage:
- Best Overall in Ohio: Dairyland
- Cheapest in Ohio: Liberty Mutual
- Best for Technology: Clearcover
- Best for High-Risk Drivers: SafeAuto
- Best for Extensive Claims History: Hallmark
State Minimum Rates in Ohio
Most states need a specified minimum coverage for property damages and bodily injury, but the limits vary. Here are the state minimum rates from 5 carriers for a 12-month policy.
*Quotes were obtained using the following profile: 40-year-old female, 2015 Ford Taurus, excellent driving record. For an accurate quote based on your metrics, get a custom quote.
Ohio State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Here are the minimum coverage requirements to demonstrate financial responsibility in Ohio:
- Bodily injury per person per accident: This is a 3rd-party benefit coverage that pays for the injuries you cause to other people, including a passenger, pedestrian or another driver. This policy covers lost wages and medical expenses as a result of injuries. In some cases, it could even cover legal and funeral expenses. It usually covers up to $25,000 per person.
- Bodily injury for all persons per accident: Covers up to $50,000 in medical expenses and lost wages of all people injured in an accident.
- Property damage liability: Similar to bodily injury liability, property damage liability is 3rd-party benefit insurance that covers up to $25,000 for any damage you cause to other property or vehicles. This doesn’t cover damage to your own car, so you might want to consider additional collision coverage.
- Personal injury protection (PIP): Often referred to as “no-fault coverage,” PIP is an extension of auto insurance that pays for lost wages and medical expenses when you, someone covered by your policy or your passengers are injured, no matter who’s at fault. You’re entitled to maximum benefits and PIP can also take care of expenses like hospital transport and medical appointments.
Ohio Driving Laws
It’s illegal to drive a vehicle without auto insurance or any other proof of financial responsibility in Ohio. It’s also illegal to let someone else drive your vehicle without proof of financial responsibility. Drivers must have insurance or obtain a bond to be in compliance with Ohio’s financial responsibility requirements. Here are a few other laws to know:
- Driver licensing: You must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to apply for a driver’s license. You must also provide proof of citizenship, full legal name, age and address. If you’re under 18 years and applying for a license, you must complete an education course that includes 8 hours of driving and 24 hours of classroom instruction. You must obtain a license within a month of establishing residency in the state if you’re a new resident in Ohio.
- Restricted license: You can be issued a restricted driver’s license if you have certain disabilities or medical issues. This imposes some limitations on your driving privileges.
- Financial responsibility: You must have a minimum amount of liability coverage to legally drive a motor vehicle.
- Vehicle equipment regulations: You should not move or drive, or knowingly allow someone else to drive a vehicle that’s unsafe and endangers other road users.
- Safety belts: You and your passengers must wear seat belts at all times.
- Lanes: You must always drive on the right half of the roadway.
- Turns: You should turn right as close as possible to the right edge of the road. You must give a turn signal at least 100 feet before your intended turn, through either a mechanical signal or an appropriate arm signal.
- Lights: You must display lights between sunset and sunrise and at any time of fog, snow, rain or other unfavorable conditions.
- Speed limits: You cannot drive at speeds less than or greater than what’s reasonable, depending on the weather, road and traffic condition. You cannot drive at a speed exceeding:
- 15 mph in alleys within municipal corporations
- 20 mph when passing school zones
- 35 mph on all state routes except controlled-access highways
- 50 mph on state routes outside urban districts
- 55 mph for non-commercial buses and vehicles than exceed 8,000 pounds
- 55 mph (max speed limit) on all other highways
- Racing: You should not participate in any race on a public road.
- Obstruction of vision: You should not overload your vehicle with cargo or passengers so that your vision is obstructed.
- Distracted driving: You cannot write, send or read text messages while driving. Holding a pet while driving is also a distracted driving offense.
- Driving under suspension: Driving while your license is suspended is a first-degree misdemeanor and you’ll be subject to a fine not less than $1,000.
Car Insurance Premiums in Ohio
The amount you pay for coverage is affected by various factors, from your driving record to the type of coverage to your location. Here’s what commonly determines car insurance premium prices in Ohio:
- Your driving record: You’ll pay a lower premium if you have a better driving record. If you have committed serious traffic violations or been in multiple accidents, you’ll pay more than a driver with a clean record. You might also pay more if you are a new driver.
- The type of car: The cost of your car is a major factor in the premiums you pay. Some other variables could include the cost of repairs, engine size and overall safety records. Cars with advanced security features, like anti-theft devices and anti-lock brakes, may qualify for discounts.
- Location matters: You’ll pay more for your auto insurance policy if you’re an urban driver due to higher rates of accidents, theft and vandalism. Your parking location may affect your premium as well.
- How often you drive: This makes a difference. You’ll pay more if you drive often. You’ll also be eligible for cheap car insurance if you only drive occasionally.
- Your age: One of the biggest factors to affect your premium is age. Young, less experienced drivers pay more than veteran drivers.
- The type of coverage: What coverage you pick affects the cost of your premiums. Most states have minimum car insurance requirements and involve liability coverage. Add-ons like collision coverage and underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage increase your premiums.
- Your deductible is the amount you agree to pay before your insurance coverage kicks in, and it affects your premium. A higher deductible means you’ll pay less for the insurance policy.
Best Car Insurance in Ohio for State Minimum Coverage
The best car insurance will depend on what you’re looking for in an insurance carrier. Here are the top providers for state minimum coverage in Ohio.
1. Best Overall in Ohio: Dairyland
Dairyland offers relatively low premium rates for a 12-month policy, discounts for owning multiple vehicles and coverage for antique vehicles.
The company also provides coverage if you have poor credit or driving history. Dairyland is also among the few auto insurers that accept foreign drivers’ licenses. The company also offers low down payment options to its customers and prior insurance isn’t required to obtain coverage.
Claim services are also available 24/7 via phone.
2. Cheapest in Ohio: Liberty Mutual
Liberty Mutual stands tall among its competitors for having the lowest 12-month policy rates for state minimum coverage. In addition to the state minimum insurance, the company also offers optional coverages like accident forgiveness, new car replacement and repair guarantee if you use any of their approved repair shops.
Although the company’s discounts are different among states, there is a long list of price breaks that you can enjoy. You may get discounts if you’re an active or retired military member, drive an electric or hybrid, have insured multiple cars and have anti-theft and anti-lock brakes.
3. Best for Technology: Clearcover
Clearcover boasts a tech-based model and uses artificial intelligence to personalize insurance policies. Claim processing is also incredibly fast since everything is done through their mobile application. You can quickly receive a damage estimate after uploading scene photos.
Clearcover is also a great option for drivers looking for military discounts. In addition, the carrier also offers discounts for being a defensive driver, installing anti-theft devices and having a safety device.
4. Best for High-Risk Drivers: SafeAuto
SafeAuto specializes in state minimum insurance but you can also receive collision and comprehensive coverage. This company is also a great option if you can’t find coverage elsewhere due to your poor credit, recurring traffic offenses or DUI convictions.
The company also offers same-day payment after a claim is approved. Payments can be made directly to a bank-issued debit card, prepaid card or bank account. SafeAuto also offers 24/7 claims assistance, which helps you settle claim issues at any time of the day.
5. Best for Extensive Claims History: Hallmark
Hallmark can be a great option if you can secure state minimum coverage due to your extensive claims history. The company has a functional and easy-to-navigate website — you can find an agent, obtain a quote and make a payment. The company also covers towing and labor should you need to get your damaged car to a service center.
Although the company’s premiums are relatively high, customers can enjoy discounts for insuring multiple cars, bundling policies and owning a home, irrespective of who insures it.
Drive Safely with the Coverage You Need
Before you hit the road in Ohio, ensure you have the minimum amount of coverage required. Collect multiple quotes online and check out different carriers and discounts before you make your decision. Ohio state minimum car insurance requires you to prove financial responsibility, but the right auto insurance policy means you and your passengers are prepared wherever you go.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Should I have just the minimum amount of car insurance required by my state?
It’s a good idea to purchase more than the state minimum of any type of insurance. State minimums are set relatively low to keep insurance affordable, but in the case of an accident, you can deplete your minimums quickly with expensive medical and property damage costs. Once your bills extend past the minimums, you’ll personally be liable for additional costs and damage. Get the coverage that makes sense for you here.
Q: How does my personal credit play a role?
Insurance carriers run credit scores to help determine policy premiums. Your insurance rates will likely be lower if you have an excellent credit score. On the other hand, your insurance rates may be higher if you have a poor credit score. Insurance companies believe credit scores are an indicator of whether you’ll make your insurance payments on time and credit scores combined with other data can be predictive of risk. Check out the best companies for all credit scores now.