|Coverage||Minimum Amount||Company||12-Month Policy Rate|
|Bodily injury per person||$10,000||Infinity||$624|
|Bodily injury for all persons||$20,000||Bristol West||$708|
|Property damage liability||$10,000||Mercury||$768|
|PIP (personal injury protection)||$10,000||Direct Auto||$1,176|
|Collision and comprehensive||$0||The General||$1,260|
Are you driving without insurance? If you don’t have at least state-minimum auto insurance, you could be putting yourself at risk of a fine or a suspended license.
Getting insured doesn’t have to mean spending thousands of dollars on coverage. We’ll introduce you to the basics of Florida state minimum car insurance and a few of our favorite companies that provide cheap car insurance.
State Minimum Car Insurance in FL
Tip: compare 2-3 quotes
Best Car Insurance in Florida for State Minimum Coverage:
- Best Overall in Florida: Allstate
- Cheapest in Florida: Infinity
- Best for Drivers without a Clean Record: The General
- Best for Drivers with Bad Credit: Direct Auto
- Best for Add-ons: Florida Farm Bureau
- Best Car Insurance in Florida for State Minimum Coverage:
- State Minimum Rates in Florida
- Florida State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- Florida Driving Laws
- Car Insurance Premiums in Florida
- Best Car Insurance in Florida for State Minimum Coverage
- Get the Coverage You Need at a Price You Can Afford
- Frequently Asked Questions
State Minimum Rates in Florida
Many drivers put off buying car insurance because they believe that they can’t afford coverage. But the truth is that there are many affordable options for Florida car insurance. Let’s take a look at a few sample rates from some of the state’s top insurers.
|Company||12-Month Policy Rate|
*Quotes were obtained using the following profile: 40-year-old female, 2015 Ford Taurus, excellent driving record. For an accurate quote based on your metrics, please get a custom quote here.
Florida State Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
Florida is the only state in the United States that doesn’t legally require its residents to have a valid car insurance policy to drive. However, if you’re driving without insurance, Florida’s Financial Responsibility law states that you may be held liable for up to $20,000 of damage if you cause an accident. You must post a bond to waive the car insurance requirement in the Sunshine State. The law also states that certain drivers who have been convicted of a DUI or who have caused an accident in the past must have a car insurance policy.
It’s much more affordable to buy car insurance than to cover the costs of damage after an accident. Let’s take a look at how much coverage you’ll need as a Florida resident.
Bodily Injury per Person per Accident
Bodily injury liability coverage compensates anyone you injure in an auto accident. It helps cover the costs of other drivers’ medical bills but doesn’t offer you any protection as the policyholder. The minimum bodily injury liability insurance level that an insurance company can sell is $10,000 per person injured, but you may choose to waive this coverage as a Florida resident.
Bodily Injury for all Persons per Accident
This coverage offers the same protection as bodily injury liability per person but refers to the minimum total balance your insurance company can pay out per accident. The minimum level of bodily injury liability insurance an insurance company can sell is $20,000 per accident, but you can also waive this coverage.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability coverage compensates other people whose property is damaged during an accident you cause. Like bodily injury liability insurance, property damage liability coverage won’t pay to repair your property — only the property of someone who you collide with. If you choose to buy an insurance policy, you must have at least $10,000 of property damage liability coverage as a Florida resident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is a type of coverage that helps you pay for your medical bills and sometimes lost wages after an accident. If you choose to buy an insurance policy, you must have at least $10,000 of personal injury protection.
Florida Driving Laws
As a resident of the Sunshine State, you’re responsible for understanding and obeying local driving laws. Whether you were born and raised in Florida or you’re just passing through to visit Disney, you might be putting yourself at risk of a ticket if you don’t follow the state’s specific laws.
Let’s take a look at a few Florida traffic laws you’ll need to know before you hit the road:
- Headlights: Florida law states that you must have your vehicle’s headlights on from dusk until dawn. You must also keep your headlights on when it’s raining or foggy. This alerts other drivers to your vehicle’s presence and makes collisions less likely.
- Move Over Law: Florida’s Move Over Law goes into effect when a police officer or state trooper is parked on the side of a 2-lane road. If you see an officer ahead, you must slow your vehicle to at least 20 mph below the posted speed limit and move your car to the lane furthest from the officer.
- Texting and driving: It’s against the law to text and drive in Florida, no matter your age or license status. There are currently no bans on driving while talking on your cell phone but you’re encouraged to use a hands-free device to limit your risk.
- Seat belts: It’s against Florida law to operate a motor vehicle when any front seat passenger isn’t wearing a seat belt. You also cannot drive if any passenger under the age of 18 isn’t wearing a seat belt, no matter where in the car the passenger’s sitting.
Car Insurance Premiums in Florida
Your costs for car insurance are influenced by a number of factors. Some of the things that affect how much you pay for coverage include:
- Your ZIP code
- The age of your vehicle
- Your vehicle’s theft statistics
- Your age and years of experience on the road
- Your credit score
- Your driving record
- The number of points on your license
- Whether you’ve had a DUI
- Your gender
- Your marital status
- Whether you’ve had a recent lapse in coverage
- How you’re using your vehicle
- The mileage on your car or truck
- The number of miles you drive every day
- Any discounts you claim
- Your chosen deductible
Each car insurance company uses its own individual formula to calculate rates. It’s possible to get the exact same level of coverage at 20 different price points from 20 different companies. That’s why it’s so important to get a quote from a few competing insurance providers before you choose a policy.
Best Car Insurance in Florida for State Minimum Coverage
Now that you understand how car insurance works in Florida, let’s take a look at some of the best car insurance companies that offer state-minimum coverage.
1. Best Overall in Florida: Allstate
Allstate provides coverage for everything from homes to boats. It’s one of the largest insurance providers in the United States and it also offers an impressive range of coverage and discounts for Florida residents — you can find everything from state-minimum coverage to full comprehensive coverage policies.
Allstate also offers a generous range of discounts to help you save on your insurance. With Allstate, you can save when you sign up for your policy at least 7 days before it goes into effect, enabling automatic payments, paying your policy in full and much more. You can also bundle multiple Allstate policies together and save even more money.
2. Cheapest in Florida: Infinity
If you value a comprehensive app for managing your insurance policies, be sure to consider a policy from Infinity. Infinity offers a full-service mobile app for both Android and Apple users. You can manage your policy, add new coverages, pay your premium or find the nearest preferred repair shop if you’re involved in a major accident.
You can even submit a claim directly through the Infinity app — just snap a photo, upload your claim and get back on the road. Infinity is one of our top choices to blend affordable coverage with a comprehensive app for Florida drivers.
3. Best for Drivers without a Clean Record: The General
If you’ve been involved in an accident or gotten a DUI, you might have trouble finding insurance. When you do find a policy, you’re also likely to have to pay much more than other drivers. This can make the task of finding reliable insurance feel impossible.
The General specializes in insuring drivers who don’t have a clean record. You can quickly claim a free quote online and get enrolled in a policy in as little as 2 minutes. You can even choose your payment due date so you align your insurance payments with your paycheck schedule.
4. Best for Drivers with Bad Credit: Direct Auto
If you have a low credit score, you’re statistically more likely to file an auto insurance claim at some point in your life, file an inflated claim or even commit insurance fraud. A poor credit score can make it tough to find affordable insurance.
If you’re still working on building your credit score, consider a policy from Direct Auto. In our review, Direct Auto offered some of the most affordable rates for drivers with poorer scores. Direct Auto’s team also makes it exceptionally easy to get a quote and enroll in an insurance plan. Just answer a few questions, get your quote online and get covered.
5. Best for Add-ons: Florida Farm Bureau
Car insurance can be expensive — especially if you live in a major urban area. If you’re looking for the cheapest way to get state-minimum coverage, consider a policy from Florida Farm Bureau. In our review, Florida Farm Bureau offered some of the lowest rates in Florida’s largest cities, including Miami, Orlando, St. Petersburg and Tampa.
Florida Farm Bureau also offers some unique policy add-ons if you do choose to extend your coverage. You can buy additional insurance that covers your pets if you’re involved in an accident and you can even buy coverage that helps you pay for public transportation if your car is totaled and being repaired.
Get the Coverage You Need at a Price You Can Afford
At Benzinga, we know that the key to finding affordable car insurance is collecting as many quotes as possible. That’s why we’ve made it easier than ever to get custom quotes from multiple competing auto insurance companies. Just enter your ZIP code, tell us a little bit about yourself and you’ll instantly be able to learn more about the auto insurance companies available to you. Click here to get started and get on your way to more affordable car insurance.
Frequently Asked Questions
1) Q: How does my personal credit play a role?
A: Insurance carriers run credit scores to help determine policy premiums. Your insurance rates will likely be lower if you have an excellent credit score. On the other hand, your insurance rates may be higher if you have a poor credit score. Insurance companies believe credit scores are an indicator of whether you’ll make your insurance payments on time and credit scores combined with other data can be predictive of risk. Check out the best companies for all credit scores now.
2) Q: How much is my car insured for?
A: With a standard auto insurance policy, your vehicle is insured using actual cash value, which means that a deduction may be taken for depreciation based on age or usage. As your vehicle ages, it’s worth less money which reduces the insurable value. If you own a collectible or classic car, you’ll want to consider a specialized classic car insurance policy that insures your vehicle to its full value without a deduction for depreciation.
3) Q: I drive for a rideshare company, am I covered by my auto insurance?
A standard auto insurance policy doesn’t provide coverage for business use of your vehicle, including the transport of passengers. Major rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft offer some coverage when you have a passenger in the vehicle, but there can still be troubling gaps in coverage like when you are waiting for a passenger. Many auto insurers now offer a rider that extends your coverage to fill the gaps between your standard policy’s coverage and the rideshare company’s coverage. Compare companies here for the best rideshare coverage.